The Iowa Short Fiction Award and the John Simmons Short Fiction Award are annual prizes awarded to two collections of stories. Writers who have yet to publish a book-length volume of fiction are eligible to apply, and winning manuscripts are published by The Iowa Press.

Submissions for the 2023-2024 awards are closed. Next submission period will open August 1st, 2024 and close September 30th.

Jamil Jan Kochai sits on a stool in a bookstore and reads from his book.

The Iowa Short Fiction Award has been presented annually since 1969. In 1988 the University of Iowa Press instituted the John Simmons Short Fiction Award—named after the first director of the Press—to complement the ongoing award series. Serious critical consideration is guaranteed by such final judges as Alison Lurie, Raymond Carver, Marilynne Robinson, James Salter, Kevin Brockmeier, and Ethan Canin; this year's judge is Jamil Jan Kochai.

Jamil Jan Kochai is the author of The Haunting of Hajji Hotak and Other Stories, winner of the 2023 Aspen Words Literary Prize and a finalist for 2022 National Book Award. His debut novel 99 Nights in Logar was a finalist for the Pen/Hemingway Award for Debut Novel. His short stories have appeared in The New YorkerPloughsharesZoetropeThe O. Henry Prize Stories, and The Best American Short Stories. His essays have been published at The New York Times and the Los Angeles Times

Recent Winners

No Use Pretending by Thomas A. Dodson

2023 Iowa Short Fiction Award

Stories No One Hopes Are About Them by A. J. Bermudez

2022 Iowa Short Fiction Award

The Woods by Janice Obuchowski

2022 John Simmons Short Fiction Award

Join Our Mailing List

To subscribe, click Yes, subscribe me to this list in the confirmation email we'll send.